About the Parish of St. Aloysius & St. James

St. Aloysius

St. Aloysius altar

St Aloysius church was opened on 3 June 1888. Built in the early French style of architecture it originally cost £5,000, and the architect was Charles Walker who also designed St Patrick's church in Felling. The Lady Chapel was built as a memorial to the people of the parish who died during the 1st World War.

The church has been extensively renovated and a new sanctuary built in recent years. Bishop Ambrose Griffiths consecrated the new permanent altar and the church for the first time over one hundred years after its first opening. There is a special crucifix at the back of the church which was sponsored and autographed by children of our Parish school, St Aloysius. The symbols on this cross mark the Christian millennium and the boat represents the shipbuilding history of Hebburn.

 

St. James

St. JamesSt. James church opened in 1967 and has seen many changes over the years. One thing which has remained constant is the way parishioners are genuinely committed to the community of St James. 

We feel that our church is not just a building but a precious place of Sacramental celebration. Our services are vibrant and lively with the gift of a living faith. We see our mission, as followers of Jesus Christ, to share his message of love and service.